Sunday, November 10, 2013

The Joiners

ohmigod my first post
so excite

Hellooooooooo. I'm Isabella, but most of you might now me as PhoenixIzzie (or just Izzie :3).

Okay, onto the real issue here. If you have your own role-play club, or you participate in one, and you're really into it (as in, 200+ posts in each topic into it), then you probably know what I'm about to say.

That's right, I'm talking about 'The Joiners'.

I call them The Joiners for one reason - they join in halfway though your role-play.

Like, hello? We started 4 months ago. Can you not?

I was in a club where our characters were torturing another character, and then some girl walked into the woods all like, "Hello? Hi, I'm insertrandomnameherecauseiforgot. I'm new at your school."

"Um, yeah, hi, I'm kind of busy whipping this hero, could you like, I don't know, go wait over there in the corner and I'll talk you when I'm done?" 

Seriously, if an enrollment topic has 30 enrollments, and the other topics have 500+ posts, then don't bother joining in. 

Just letting some steam out, y'all. 

Izzie xx

Saturday, November 9, 2013

Once a mean girl, always a mean girl.

Role playing a mean girl is fun, and it like doing it. But here's one really annoying thing that happens a lot in some clubs:
"Bliss Ocean is popular and flawless, but she's the meanest girl in school."
Okay, good. Some drama.
But then, after passing a few remarks about cheap clothing, the mean girl becomes friends with everyone and is all nice, simply because she might think that she's a b7tch in real life. She basically chickens out of her duties of ruining lives, Don't get me wrong, near the end she can change and befriend everyone lalala happy ending, but in the first topic after saying "I hate your shoes" and a better rper serving up a nice comeback, don't run away.
Embrace your Regina George.

DISCLAIMER- Abby does NOT promote ruining lives or being a cow in real life.

Friday, November 8, 2013

Lou’s little roleplay rant of the week –

[a.k.a – TheCheshireCat_]

Note from Tilly; Hi, so you must of noticed that I am actually posting this... This is due to the fact the Lou cannot actually get onto Blogger, without her laptop spazzing. So she will email me her posts, and I will post them for her :) Enjoy xx

Today I shall be addressing the issue of –

©       Godmodding

©       Mary-Sue’s [I.e. – perfect charries.]



We’ve all been here before – Godmodding. [I.e. – using someone else’s charrie without their consent, it has other names – but for the sake of my sanity, I shan’t be bothering to list them.]

You have no idea how much it frustrates me – it’s almost as bad as having your charries who date your other charries. No.

But back to the topic at hand – godmodding, for some strange reason, people continue to do it – regardless of the fact that it doesn’t impress the other person. It infuriates them.

For example –

Sarah-Jane struts into the cafeteria and pours her berry smoothie all over Olivia’s head, laughing as the other girl bursts into a blubbering mess.

Godmodding. It should become an illegal practise. End of.



Mary Sue’s –

There’s no such thing as a perfect character, or a perfect person – because it gets boring hearing about their flawless their appearance is. Every character must have faults, secrets, stuff that sets them apart from the norm. this is how drama is created –

For example –

Sarah-Jane skips into the cafeteria, tossing her sun bleached locks over her shoulder, cocking a slim hip – a delicate pout creases her otherwise perfect cupid’s bow as she debates the ever so urgent matter of salad dressing – and the countless carbs which dressings conceals.



Anyhoo – the main reason for this rant is to get my opinion across at how utterly vexatious both points are. So unless you’d like to be dumped in a vat of peanut butter and then fed to my pet jabberwocky – for the sake of all roleplayer’s sanity, DO NOT GODMOD OR USE MARY-SUE’S! THANKYOU. IT WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.


RP pet peeves

Okay, this is my first post and I need to clarify ONE THING: Lilly Lollies was a random, Idk why I said that was my name. You can call me Abby.

So, back to RP, a topic which I lurve.
But I still have my peeves about it.
I'll probably try to make this a series, so here's one for now-
Perfect characters who's only flaws are..... Well nothing.

A perfect example:
Her name is Krystal Aster, she has the looks of a model, well she is a supermodel, singer and actress. She is really clever and a member of Mensa, is the queen bee, but she's really nice and sweet and everyone loves her and Krystal is friends with everyone, well not the geeks. Her parents are super rich,  and oh yeah, Krystal is sixth in line to the English throne.

No.
Nobody's perfect. A perfect character is boring.
Make her rich and smart, or popular and pretty, or royal and kind, but not all of them. Also, flaws  and secrets can make things better.
Here's a better Krystal:
Her name is Krystal Aster, only child of William Aster, the car tycoon, her mother left when she was three. Krystal is wealthy, pretty, but very rude and lonely. Stealing comes as a thrill to her, and her and her popular friends party too much.

See? I hope together we can banish the Mary Sues and make actually interesting characters!
-Abby

Monday, November 4, 2013

One Lining & Tips

So, it's Tilly, and there is actually one thing, that pisses me off. Only one thing. One-liners. If you don't know what that means, here is the definition, that I stole from a website, which I do not remember;

"Definition of a "One-liner"

A "One-liner" is a person who posts only one line of action and/or dialogue and expects an appropriate reaction to their post. One-liners are notorious role players, racking up large post quantities but failing in what matters the most in role playing: quality. You see, in order to really develop a character, it is not the quantity of your posts that matter, but the quality of what you have written."

Here are some tips, to help you not 'One-line' and get a lot more out of your rping;

- Techniques;
At the start of a post, there should always be a reaction to what was said/done in the previous post, unless you just enter a topic. Then add in a little bit of talking, and emotion, and finishing with a movement, rounds it up pretty nicely.

- Movements;
Whatever you character is doing, add in description, that includes smells, thoughts, sounds and everything in between. You want to give the next person to reply an idea of what is going on in real-life.

Take this for example.

Bad RP E.g;
I crossed the floor, and sat on a couch, and looked up. I turn towards the door, and I see Charlotte. I smirk. "What's wrong." I say.

See, there is a lack of definition, and description. The next person to post would have to create an idea in their head, to actually know what is going on, an even then, it wouldn't be the same as yours.

Improved RP E.g;
The tap of my heels on the wooden floor, sounded like a knock on a door as I crossed it. A musty, old scent hit me as I plopped down carelessly on a couch, causing the once polished floor to groan. The sound of a heavy breath, draws my eyes to a brunette standing near a door. A thousand thoughts run through my mind, as a smirk plays up on my pretty, pink lips. "What's wrong Charlotte?" I drawl, letting each letter run off my Russian tongue. I play with a hole in the 'vintage' couch, pulling out stuffing that has yellowed with time.

See the improvement? I know I do. Add some fidgeting, and some detail to an otherwise low quality post. You want it to mirror real life.

- Do's;
Include lots of description and comparisons in your posts.

Use dialogue that other people can understand.

Include movement such as walking, drinking, smelling, etc.

Use your character's five senses.

Describe the surrounding environment.

Research before you post. If you are responding to a particular topic, learn about it before you just make something up.

Follow the guidelines of the universe in which you are posting.

Remember to use good grammar, punctuation, and spelling. It is appreciated.

Think of creative titles for your topics...they are more likely to attract others to come post.

Be realistic.

- Don't;
Take an insult to your character personally. It is just a character, insulting another character...that is all.

Use less than 4-8 sentences per post. While they don't have to be novels, less than that and you border the "one-liner" category once more.

Break the rules of the universe in which you are role playing.

Think your character is invincible. If they are, then they aren't a very good character. No one wants to role play with a god, especially if they always have to be right.

Get mad if you don't get a romantic interest straight away. Unless you are TheCheshireCat_, and you have magic abilities to make all the characters fall in love with you, with a touch of a keyboard. She has the right to get mad.

AND THE ULTIMATE NUMBER 1 RULE...
- Keep friendly in OOC, nobody likes an OOC drama. It creates a hassle for the other members, managers and owners.

xx, Tilly.



Name ideas

So, a lot of people have trouble coming up with names for their charries, so here are some ideas;

Girl first names;
Tia, Carolin, Whitney, Juliet, Anna, Jade, Jayne, Staci, Hannah, Emily, Abbie, Sade, Kendra, Madeline, Dorothy, Theresa, Gabriella, Jillian, Candee, Brooklyn, Kira, Kendell, Morgan, Izabella, Lara, Rita, Cindi, Norah, Noah, Bridget, Luna, Astrid, Jessamine, Audrey, Kacylyn.

Boy first names;
Jeremy, Donald, Shaun, Oliver, Lionel, Tyson, Luke, Gary, Aidan, Aden, Jonathan, Thomas, Randall, Jonah, Brandon, Kurt, Andre, Daye, Matt, Zachery, Zach, Colin, Lawrence, Clifford, Scott, Braedon, Nathaniel, Nate, Cliff, Harry, Jasper, Sebastion, Troye.

Last name;
Haney, Gaye, Velasquez, Simpson, Brooks, Conrad, Hodges, Vaughn, Beck, Perez, Cunningham, Todd, Watson, Ballard, Maxwell, Castaneda, Brady, Buckley, Willis, Morrison, Gould, Higgins, Herring, Hemmings, Pits, Williamson, Acosta, Wiggins, Murray, Wogner, Alexander, Luna, Ayers, Sivan.

xx, Tilly.